[CRTech] Christian Radio Tech [MSG 80686]
[Thread Prev] [-- Thread Index --] [Thread Next] [Date Prev] [-- Date Index --] [Date Next]
RE: Radio Data Center email
To: CRTech <crtech@crtech.org>
Subject: RE: Radio Data Center email
From: "Schmitke, Gregory I" <GISchmitke@unwsp.edu>
Date: Tue, 29 Aug 2017 18:36:17 +0000
Accept-language: en-US
Content-language: en-US
In-reply-to: <4617CC45-1B07-4141-9130-FD507F82563D@salemomaha.com>
References: <0AEAA5CCBA3A42ABA3988946094E6294@ProductionPC> <4617CC45-1B07-4141-9130-FD507F82563D@salemomaha.com>
Thread-index: AQHTIBz3O48QPnrNBUa6lSBLdcDoE6Kb8TsA//+5sYA=
Thread-topic: [CRTech] Radio Data Center email

I received one of these emails as well, I hit my favorite button; Delete. J  


Greg Schmitke,  CBRE                  

Life97.9 / Faith 1200

Chief Engineer                               

Chief Operator                                   





From: Mike Shane [mailto:mshane@salemomaha.com]
Sent: Tuesday, August 29, 2017 12:47 PM
To: CRTech <crtech@crtech.org>
Subject: Re: [CRTech] Radio Data Center email


Hello Aaron,


I got one of these, too.  Two things bothered me.  1) The phrase: "consolidate your brand," which means nothing to me and resembles the misspellings (sp? :) ) one often sees on phishing emails; and 2) signature required.


First off, I would not even be authorized to sign a release for a company logo.  YMMV, of course.  Secondly, if they didn't know who they should have sent it to in our company, "too bad, you lose."


So while I can't confirm it's not legit, there was enough wrong with it for me to conclude it was a phish and I moved on.

Mike Shane

Operations Manager

Salem Media Group Omaha

.KCRO 660 AM 106.5 FM The Word

.KGBI 100.7 The Fish® 

.KOTK 94.5 FM 1420 AM The Answer

.ClassicCCM dot com

On Aug 28, 2017, at 11:44, Alive Radio Network <events@aliveradionetwork.com> wrote:

To the Brain Trust,


Has anyone received any emails from RDC (usa@radiodatacenter.com)?


My boss has gotten several emails from them and is looking for input.  This is what they claim:


“We work on behalf of the automotive industry and the manufacturers of modern car radios to ensure that the radio station's logo is displayed on the radio when the program is being heard. Your advantages: This is a free service (NO hidden costs). You will be able to strengthen and consolidate your brand with the listener. We’ll take care of the technology and coordination with diverse manufacturers.”


They then ask us to upload our station Logo and sign an agreement for permission to use.  Their website looks legit, yet their contact is in Germany.  I would appreciate any feedback.  Thanks.


Aaron Lucrezio, Production Manager
Alive Radio Network - The Largest Christian Radio Network in the Entire Upstate NY Market - broadcasting far into NY, VT and MA!
http://www.aliveradionetwork.com aaron@aliveradionetwork.com - 518-237-1442
WHAZ 1330AM | WBAR 94.7FM | WMYY 97.3FM | WHAZ 97.5FM | WMNV 104.1FM

References: Radio Data Center email
("Alive Radio Network" <events@aliveradionetwork.com>, 28 Aug 2017 16:44:36 -0000)
Re: Radio Data Center email
(Mike Shane <mshane@salemomaha.com>, 29 Aug 2017 17:47:11 -0000)
Prev by date: Re: Radio Data Center email
(Mike Shane, 29 Aug 2017 17:47:11 -0000)
Next by date: Re: Re[2]: Form 1 submission
(Timothy Zook, 29 Aug 2017 19:24:40 -0000)
Prev by thread: Re: Radio Data Center email
(Mike Shane, 29 Aug 2017 17:47:11 -0000)
Next by thread: Re: Radio Data Center email
(Geoff Fairbairn, 30 Aug 2017 10:51:52 -0000)